Wednesday, October 30, 2013

4 Types of Acids in Wine

Titrable acidity is the method of measuring the amount of the acid content in wine. Acidity is measured by pH with most wines showing a pH of 2.9 to 3.9

Acidity in wine making measures the sourness of the wine relative to the sweet taste  and to the amount of tannins it contains.

There are 4 types of acids in wine that influences its taste and color:

1. Tartaric acid

Tartaric acid is one of the major types of acid that helps make the chemical content of the wine stable under changing conditions and has a significant influence on the finished wine's color, taste and distinct flavor. This acid is present in tamarind, bananas and grapes. It imparts the sour taste to wine in combination with other types of acids. The level of acidity of tartaric acid does not vary a lot as the berries mature.

2. Malic acid

Malic acid is another important acid that imparts sour taste to wine. It is present in all types of berries and fruits but is historically associated with green apples. The level of acidity of malic acid varies a lot as the berries mature and ripen.

3. Lactic acid
4. Citric acid

No comments:

Post a Comment