Friday, January 25, 2013

Types of Caviar

Caviar is a type of gourmet food made from the salted eggs of the sturgeon species of fish. It is considered a food of luxury because it is very expensive and difficult to harvest.

The word "caviar" originally refers to the eggs of the sturgeon fish that can be found in the Black Sea and Caspian Sea.

4 Types of Caviar 

1. Beluga caviar: Beluga caviar is the most expensive type of caviar made from the eggs of the Beluga sturgeon calle Huso-Huso. The eggs are mainly harvested from the Caspian Sea and sometimes from the Black Sea and Adriatic Sea.

2. Ossetra caviar: The second most expensive caviar is the Ossetra caviar which is obtained from the Ossetra sturgeon. 

3. Sevruga caviar: The third most expensive caviar is the Sevruga caviar which is harvested from the Sevruga sturgeon fish

4. Sterlet caviar: The sterlet caviar is made from the smaller species of the sturgeon family and from the more domesticated kind of fish found in the waters of the United Kingdom and parts of Europe

No comments:

Post a Comment